Montreal's The Phare

Montreal’s The Phare, a mission corps (church) of The Salvation Army, is also part of the Booth Centre Community Ministries. It grew out of the chaplaincy department at the Booth Centre and was created to meet the needs of residents, former residents, employees and interested members of the community. It was inaugurated in 2013 as a local church and opened a community centre in Hochelaga-Maisonneuve in 2014.

Mission
Le Phare is a participant in the work of the Booth Centre and in the community to work at the transformation of the community by fighting harmful psychological, social and spiritual forces and by offering resources for the growth of the members of the community.

Services in-house:

Le Phare works with the chaplaincy department of the Booth Centre to assist residents and staff who wish to embark on a Christian spiritual journey or have done so through the in-house local corps (church). It offers:

  • Worship services on Sunday evenings,
  • Course on  Salvation Army soldiership;
  • Spiritual counseling and prayer;
  • Christian discipleship training.

Services to the community
The community centre in Hochelaga-Maisonneuve is linked to the local corps (church) at the Booth Centre. With the help of pastoral care staff and volunteers from the Booth Centre and the community, it offers:

  • A monthly breakfast
  • Twice-monthly food distribution
  • A drop-in centre 2 days a week
  • A weekly evening coffeehouse with a variety of activities (concerts, documentaries, movies, testimonies, etc.)
  • Active listening, counseling, spiritual guidance
  • Referrals to the Booth Centre, Salvation Army centres, and other resources

Le Phare is a means to develop relationships with the community outside the Booth Centre, provide a network for residents and former residents which includes opportunities for volunteer work, offer assistance for the spiritual and social well-being of the residents of the neighbourhood, and develop partnerships with other helping organizations.

Community Ministries Team

  • Daniel Bourque, Assistant Director of Community Ministries
  • Germain Fortin, Chaplain;
  • Mélissa Bourque, Director of Music
  • Other member of the Pastoral Care Committee: Mr. Ducer Kamgang



The Salvation Army’s Booth Center
880 Guy St., Montreal (Quebec) H3J 1T4
514-932-2214



© Armée du Salut, 2013. All rights reserved.
Update : September, 2016

Le Phare de Montréal

Le Phare de Montréal, un poste (église) de mission de l’Armée du Salut, fait également partie des services communautaires du Centre Booth. Il est issu du service d’aumônerie du centre, et a été créé dans le but de répondre aux besoins des résidents et des ex-résidents, des employés et des membres de la collectivité. Il a été inauguré en 2013 à titre d’église locale, et a ouvert un centre communautaire dans le quartier Hochelaga-Maisonneuve en 2014.

Mission

«La mission du Phare consiste à aider les hommes à découvrir et à se connecter aux rêves de Dieu pour leurs vies. Nous sommes une communauté chrétienne où tous sont les bienvenues et respectés. Notre mission a comme objectif de conduire tout homme à la découverte d’une identité valorisante et aussi de les former afin qu’ils puissent devenir des leaders forts et inspirants.»

Services à l’interne:


Le Phare collabore avec le service d’aumônerie du Centre Booth pour aider les résidents et les membres du personnel qui entreprennent un cheminement spirituel chrétien ou qui l’ont déjà amorcé au sein de l’église interne. Il offre :

  • un service du culte le dimanche soir;
  • un cours sur la fonction de soldat de l’Armée du Salut;
  • des séances de counseling spirituel et de prière;
  • une formation de disciple chrétien.

Services à la collectivité

Le centre communautaire d’Hochelaga-Maisonneuve est lié à l’église locale du Centre Booth. Avec l’aide du personnel de l’équipe de pastorale et des bénévoles du Centre Booth et de la collectivité, il offre :  

  • un déjeuner mensuel;
  • une distribution de nourriture deux fois par mois;
  • un centre de jour, deux jours par semaine;
  • un café-bar qui offre diverses activités (concerts, documentaires, films, témoignages, etc.) un soir par semaine;
  • de l’écoute active, du counseling et des conseils spirituels;
  • de l’aiguillage vers le Centre Booth, divers centres de l’Armée du Salut et d’autres ressources.

Le Phare est un outil qui permet d’élaborer des relations avec la collectivité à l’extérieur du Centre Booth, d’offrir aux résidents et aux ex-résidents un réseau qui comprend des possibilités de bénévolat, de fournir de l’aide visant le mieux-être spirituel et social des résidents du quartier, et d’établir des partenariats avec d’autres organisations caritatives.

Équipe du ministère d’entraide collective

  • Capitaine Rock Marcoux, commandant régional et officier de poste Le Phare
  • Capitaine Miguel Borgela, aumônier
  • Harout Tarakjian, directeur général du Centre Booth
  • Daniel Bourque, directeur adjoint des ministères communautaires
  • Germain Fortin, aumônier
  • Mélissa Bourque, directrice du service de musique
  • Autre membre du comité pastoral : MM. Ducer Kamgang



Le Centre Booth de l'Armée du Salut

880, rue Guy, Montréal (Québec) H3J 1T4
514 932-2214



© Armée du Salut, 2013. Tous droits réservés.

Mise à jour : 8 septembre 2016